Modeling the Cornwall RR

Jim Miller

This is my first attempt at a project like this, so here we go.

The Cornwall RR operated from 1850 to 1964 and ran various type of engines over that period.

I'm starting with the No. 10 0-6-0 which operated from 1920 to 1950.

Photo of actual engine.

post-17-0-33047500-1408627464_thumb.jpg

My model to date. An AML 1/29 scale 0-6-0, a close match. Next, paint white walls on wheels.

post-17-0-42622800-1408627646_thumb.jpg

post-17-0-45981900-1408627572_thumb.jpg

post-17-0-18577800-1408627593_thumb.jpg

Photo of actual caboose

post-17-0-83960800-1408627734_thumb.jpg

I should receive today an LGB bobber caboose to transform to Cornwall RR.

I also have 4 USATrains ore cars that will be re-lettered. Still waiting for the new Aristo ore cars.

After this consist is finished, the next one will be the No. 15, a 2-8-0 which is very close to the Aristo Consolidation. This will get a USATrains Reading center cupola caboose. Cornwall purchased 2 of these cabooses from the Reading RR for $600 each. These will be re-lettered for Cornwall RR. I have photo of these cabooses and should be an easy conversion.

I intend to list some historical info here in the future about the Cornwall RR and mines.

The Cornwall mine operated from 1739 to 1973 and produce cannons for George Washington's Army during the Revolutionary war. The mined closed due to flooding from the Agnes hurricane.

STAY TUNED................Jim

I got the AML 0-6-0 at the last York trainshow back in March 2014 from RLD (good price). I have run it 3 times. The grand kids ran it one time. I like to let them run the ones with metal gears. I installed a Phoenix P8 sound board and a REVO R/C system and it is wired to run on track or battery power. This Loco runs strong and smooth. It will make the trip to Florida in Sept to Ed Headington's K&E RR.