My elevated semi permanent technical layout

blid

I haven’t shown my layout in this forum mainly because I think it isn’t much to see, but perhaps it can give others some new ideas.

My background is H0 and tabletop layouts. When I retired and moved, I realized that I could have a garden layout in a small part of the garden. I didn’t want it on the ground and the area wouldn’t allow it anyway. My crafting skills are limited, but driving pipes into the ground and cutting boards with a hand saw is Ok as long as furniture finish isn’t required.

Elevated. It is from 15†to 85†above ground.
Semi permanent. The only things left outdoors during winter (October – May) are the short pipes in the ground.
Pic 1
Technical. A fancy word from my dealer meaning a layout without any scenery.

In the pipes I put longer pipes as legs and a beam for the boards to rest on.
Pic 2
On top of this I place the boards and tracks.
Pic 3
The thing that proved to save it all, are the bolts with, what we call, wing nuts.
Pic 4
Before the nuts are tightened the boards are fairly easy to adjust to the geometry of the tracks. When tightened, the whole assembly gets surprisingly rigid. The grey things on the pipes are old fashioned garden hose clamps of steel. I haven’t had to adjust the height, but it can be easily done. The tracks are held in place sideways by the pieces of board. That is all for the tracks.

Here is the track plan.
Pic 5
This is what it looks like from a distance.

Pic 6

post-69-0-51011300-1461232500_thumb.jpg

post-69-0-85090200-1461232538_thumb.jpg

post-69-0-69920100-1461232620_thumb.jpg

post-69-0-66805100-1461232661_thumb.jpg

post-69-0-37358600-1461232688_thumb.jpg

post-69-0-05615100-1461232706_thumb.jpg

Looks good. Prettty amazing at the different ways people come up with to make an elevated track. American ingenuity lives!   How come you take it all down in the winter?  Too much rain/snow? I see the ferns, so guess you are in the NW?