Choosing the right power and controller for G scale track

jerryemt2001

I am new to G scale.  Almost all of my trains are MTH operated via the MTH DCS with TIU and remote.  Just recently I bought the MTH one gauge Railking GG-1 and two Aristo craft trolleys.  I am slowly buying track but I am researching the best way to power and control my G scale power units (it will be a modest 12' x 15' oval).  Here is my dilemma:  I like the features of the MTH GG-1 with PS2 so I was looking at using the MTH Commander with the Z-1000 brick.  This way I can run the GG-1 and future MTH one gauge engines along with the Aristo-Craft trolleys (not necessarily at the same time on the track with the MTH).  As you know the MTH one gaugers run on AC/DC but the Aristo trolleys soley operate in DC mode.  I think the Commander might fill the bill but I was told it only puts out 6 amps and those amps will be quickly used by power units equipped with lights or smoke units.  I like the USA Trains Power 10 (10 amps) contoller/power but while my MTH trains will run on it I believe would lose the PS2 functions, sounds, and features.  What would you guys recommend?  I doubt I will expand beyond 12'x15'.  Think I can get by with the Commander and operating the two trolleys at once or just one MTH engine?  Thanks!

I really don't know much about the commander and would wait for the guys to answer your questions.

. I have the whole DCS system. I have powered my G scale DCS layout with both AC or DC, with good results. When you run MTH PS2 engines on straight DC, you can't use the functions. Just the standard engine sounds that change according to the throttle. If you used an AC transformer with bell and horn controls, I believe those will trigger the engine's horn and bell sounds.

I got by for years with a ten amp Lionel AC brick and the DCS system.

The engines use another amp each when the smoke is on.